Bucket List or Inventory?

I have a strange bucket list because I sort of wrote it before I was born!  In my 30s my life had undergone some hard and challenging events and I needed to find a way of feeling positive about my achievements whilst also giving me some goals and aspirations to work towards.  So I imagined myself floating around in the womb and began to write a list of what my bucket list would be from when I was  born until, well, I kicked the bucket.

I wanted to live by the sea.  I wanted to work abroad.  I wanted to see the Pyramids, the Great Wall of China and Rome.  I wanted to go whale watching, own dogs, run a road race (I finished last!), buy a house, have a professional manicure (I was 59 when this happened) and drive a Porsche.  I’ve added to it over the years (yes, it is actually written down) – I wanted to play in the World Series of Poker in Las Vegas and it might surprise you to know that this one is ticked!

poker-hands

But interestingly my list wasn’t all about adventures and things. One of my first entries was “to have a best friend”.  I knew that to achieve this would be one of the most important factors to my happiness and joy.  I wanted to get married – this was partly an accepted aspiration for most of my generation but one that would also let me know that I would love and be loved enough for us to tell the world in a public ceremony.  I wanted to have a job that made a real difference to other people’s lives.  And I wanted to be a mom.  I really, really wanted to be a mom.  And now I’ve added that I want to be a Grandma.

When I look at my list of all the things that I feel would show I’d lived a good life I realised I had the balance right.  People and relationships are the sign of a life well lived. Adventures and material things are the supporting act.

Leave a Reply

